Timewise.

by Kimberly Ang

“Darling hold me in your arms the way you did last night
And we’ll lie inside, a little while he wrote
I could look into your eyes until the sun comes up
And we’re wrapped in light, in life, in love”

Time has a funny way of being. It speeds up and it slows down, all in relativity.

I once read somewhere that time passes differently for each and everyone. You see, time is perceived by markers, that is how out brain knows that time is passing by. When we are aware of the markers, time seems to pass more slowly. But you see, when you particularly enjoy doing something, or being in the presence of someone, we are no longer aware of the markers, because our mind is constantly filled with something else. And before you know it, time has irrevocably passed, and you wonder where it all went.

I count back to the days when I last saw you, and it probably has to be months ago. For some reason, we seem to always miss each other. But time never seemed that long between since I last saw your smile, the way your eyes light up when you laugh. I count the days until I see you again, but I could be counting to the infinite.

Then again in the glow of the night light, time catches up and slows down, almost seeming simultaneous, until I’m lost in thoughts that are longer privy to markers of time.

